Vacation mode – ON!

2015 – Project 52 / 52Frames / A Picture a Week Challenge

At the end of a semester, or after completing a significant amount of work, we need to take some much needed relaxation! I was lucky enough to have friends in Malaysia, a mere four hours flight away from where I study, who offered me a place to relax in a different environment. It might come as a surprise that I was barely able to hold on to this photography challenge. Some might argue that I’m on vacation so I should have time to work on my photography; I argue differently… who has time to ‘work’ when vacation mode has been switched ON?! However, I was able to hang in there for the couple weeks.

Week 20 – Single Light

Week 20 - 2015 Project 52 - island living
Week 20 – 2015 Project 52 – island living

I wasn’t even aware of the theme for this week but I lucked out as I took a lot of pictures one afternoon from the beach. I always liked silhouettes and variety of subjects available were amazing. I had people and boats and people rowing boats… However, this one was my favourites as it has a sense of action coupled with peace.

Week 21 – Architecture

Week 21 - 2015 Project 52 - flight cage
Week 21 – 2015 Project 52 – flight cage

There is a wide variety of gorgeous architecture in Malaysia, especially Johor and Kuala Lampur. However, the former zoo volunteer in me felt like this juxtaposition of man-made vs. naturally constructed architectures my choice. It didn’t hurt that there were so many beautiful green trees around either. This is the top of a flight cage at the Johor Zoo.

Week 22 – Advertisement

Week 22 - 2015 Project 52 - conservation
Week 22 – 2015 Project 52 – conservation

Did I mention that I’m an animal lover? I’m not sure what others did this week from 52Frames, but I wasn’t thinking about the theme as I took this image. I didn’t even choose the image for this week until I got back from vacation. However, when I saw the theme, my mind came to this specific image as I spent a vast amount of time just observing this mom and her baby at Batu Caves, Malaysia. I didn’t use any text on it as I wanted it to speak for itself. I think it would make a good image for ‘conservation’ based public service advertisements.

That’s about it from my weeks as a lazy tourist who barely kept up with 2015 Project 52!

For more of my photography, check out my Facebook Page: TR Pixel Addiction.

2 thoughts on “Vacation mode – ON!”

Leave a Reply

