Forever.

2015 – Project 52 / 52Frames / A Picture a Week Challenge

Week 09 – Black and White

Week 09 - 2015 Project 52 - Forever
Week 09 – 2015 Project 52 – Forever

The story: I miss home; I miss my mom and dad. The ring with three hearts was given to me on my 13th Valentine by my parents – one heart for each of us as we are a small nuclear family. The other ring is an unpolished diamond from my country that my dad gave to my mom on my 18th Valentine. Mom gave me the ring as it cannot fit her anymore. Sometimes, the simplest photographs tell the most meaningful stories. I wanted to ensure that the focus was where I wanted it so I kept it very simple this week..

My thoughts on black and white photography: From the moment I saw the challenge, I knew it wasn’t going to be easy to do. I have noticed that too many people hide mistakes with black and white processing (I’ve been guilty of this also); however, there’s an art to it. I don’t think I’ve nailed the art but at least  I’ve changed my thinking about this kind of photography overall.

Don’t take it for granted that you just have to worry about ‘black’ and ‘white’ and not too many other things. I think this makes it even hard because your other skills are truly tested: composition, story, lighting, etc. I kept it simple this week as I’m bouncing back from two weeks of ‘laziness’ – I didn’t want to do the ‘go big or go home’ thing as it would have been too easy to mess that up. Thus my image for this week.

Some other images from that experiment:

For more of my photography, check out my Facebook Page: TR Pixel Addiction.

Leave a Reply

