Make a Statement!

2015 – Project 52 / 52Frames / A Picture a Week Challenge

The Excuse: I was in an accident. Although I was lucky to escape with a few scratches and bruises, I was still very much affected by all of it. Added to this there were some other things happening in my life that just de-motivated me from doing anything…photography was most definitely included.

Having said that I’m also going to say that I’m not very proud of my executions for weeks 06 and 07. However, the concepts I’ll work with again to try and properly represent them.

Week 06 – Rule of Odds

Week 07, 2015 - simplicity
Week 07, 2015 – simplicity

The problems with this image are numerous. Firstly, it’s plainly point and shoot in nature – there’s nothing creative about it. Upon reflection, I could have stood and tried to get the top-view as I think the concentric circles would have made it stronger. In addition, it’s definitely not sharp – a result of having injuries on my dominant hand. However, I could have asked a friend to help me set up a tripod…

What I learnt? Don’t use your injuries to produce something you won’t be proud of in the future. Try your best ALWAYS with what you have…

Why did I keep this image? I guess I want to keep it to remind me in the future of my laziness… I don’t want to make this mistake again!

Week 07 – Make a Statement

Week 08, 2015 - Int'al Love
Week 08, 2015 – Int’al Love

I love this picture because of the togetherness it represents for me. I’m from a beautiful country with, generally, beautiful people. However, I’m tired of the ‘racial tensions’ that are encouraged when it’s elections time in my country – this just separates friends. For me, following the current elections in my homeland, this picture made the most impact for me this week.

It’s a point and shoot in nature and the red-eyes are glaringly a problem but I choose not to focus on that. I choose to look at the happiness on the faces of my friends from Iran, Kenya, Russia, Sudan, Tanzania and the United States of America. I choose to focus on the ‘togetherness’ they show in this image and see hope for a better tomorrow…

For more of my photography, check out my Facebook Page: TR Pixel Addiction.

Leave a Reply

