Midnight Secrets

2015 – Project 52 / 52Frames / A Picture a Week Challenge

Week 02 – Silhouettes 

The theme for this week was ‘silhouettes’ – one of my most favourite themes ever. However, I was stumped for ideas as I already did a set of them over the holidays and I couldn’t use them as they weren’t taken within the time frame of the week.

As a result, I decided to combine two of my favourite things: silhouettes with and dance. I wasn’t sure what I was going to get and had a few ideas in my head but in the end, I ended up on the roof of my hostel. I noticed that the moon was up, just beyond the trees, and the idea finally came together.

Week 02, 2015 - Midnight secrets...
Week 02, 2015 – Midnight secrets…

A silhouette tends to be a dark, object without details against a background with some amount of details. For some reason, this didn’t appeal to me as I wanted some details in the object. I might not have hit this week’s challenge 100% but I like the end result.

Why do I like this image? It’s unconventional. I like the fact that the moon is in the background, just to add to the idea that it’s night. However,  the artificial light focuses on what the individual is doing – preparing for something. It’s a dark image (double challenge – doing a silhouette in darkness) but I like the fact that I was able to still highlight the subject to some extent. The overall idea for me is ‘mysterious to the point of illumination’. Basically, I’ll keep the secrets I want (in darkness) and tell you what I want to (light).

What would I have done differently if I could? It was difficult enough to get this shot. She was sitting on the ledge so on the other side of her is a two-story drop. If I could have, I would have put her somewhere else so that I can get a bit of a rim light around her head and upper body to separate her from the trees. However, that doesn’t disturb me too much as I did try moving her around but the moon wasn’t where I wanted it.

Here are some other images from that shoot:

For more of my photography, check out my Facebook Page: TR Pixel Addiction.

Leave a Reply

