Playing Catch Up – Pt 2

2014 – Project 52 – Weeks Twenty – Twenty Four

This is the second set of five pictures in my ‘playing catch up’ posts. Let’s hope I can keep to getting the blogs done on time now that I’m back in the game.

Week 20: May 14 - 20 Title: Symmetry  Location: GICC, ECD, Guyana
Week 20: May 14 – 20
Title: Symmetry
Location: GICC, ECD, Guyana

I was always attracted to images with symmetry. This week I was doing a favour for a friend and was able to take a picture of the main conference hall at the Guyana International Conference Centre. I wasn’t even thinking about making it black and white until I got to my computer after the shoot. Then I realised that it’s a really beautiful image and would probably have more impact in BnW.

Week 21: May 21 - 27 Title: Tia sees the light Location: Home, ECD, Guyana
Week 21: May 21 – 27
Title: Tia sees the light
Location: Home, ECD, Guyana

Tia is a curious dog. At almost ten years old she has what I refer to as ‘Parkinsons for Dogs’ (also referred to as the shaking sickness) there is no cure. The black spots on and near her legs are a result of her not being able to lay down without shaking and moving around. Thus, she grazed out all the hair and the skin has hardened in those area. When she first got the sickness she lost huge amounts of weight and we thought of putting her down. However, the vet never came and we never took her to the vet. Two years on and she’s gained back her weight, still shakes, still troubles our younger dog and still adores us… She’s a bit grumpy, as can be expected from an older dog, but she still demands her weekly baths, eats her food and walk my dad at nights 🙂

Week 22: May 28 - Jun 03 Title: Picture perfect GT Location: Vreed-en-Hoop, WBD, Guyana
Week 22: May 28 – Jun 03
Title: Picture perfect GT
Location: Vreed-en-Hoop, WBD, Guyana

During week  twenty-two, some photographer friends and I had a walk to Vreed-en-Hoop, one of the towns at the mouth of the Demerara River. During exploration of the jetty, we got caught in the rain and then had to rush back to the stelling area after it stopped. When we reached there it was almost night and I got a couple of hurried shots. This was my favourite – it shows our capital city, Georgetown, framed by an old wall at the stelling as night approaches.

Week 23: Jun 04 - Jun 09 Title: River Life Location: Bartica, Essequibo River, Guyana
Week 23: Jun 04 – Jun 09
Title: River Life
Location: Bartica, Essequibo River, Guyana

Bartica, Essequibo River, Guyana… that’s where I selected my picture from for this week. My beautiful country is also referred to as the Land of Many Waters and I think you can see it from this picture. There are many rivers running through my country. This is a picture of one of the boat docks in Bartica with a passing speedboat. It was a rainy day thus the lack of details in the sky – just clouds.

Week 24: Jun 11 - Jun 17 Title: Teamwork Location: MOE, ECD, Guyana
Week 24: Jun 11 – Jun 17
Title: Teamwork
Location: MOE, ECD, Guyana

Finally, I’ve caught up with this image. It shows students in a debate conferring about a point. In this case, the proposition was preparing its’ rebuttal. There are images of the individual speakers from both sides presenting their arguments, etc., however this is my favourite from the set. Note: the proposing team won 🙂 GO IBE!

Leave a Reply

