Playing Catch Up – Pt 1

2014 – Project 52 – Weeks Fifteen – Nineteen

I took a bit of a hiatus due to work but then it was difficult to start back. I’m going to take some baby steps now so that I can get back in to the trend of blogging. Therefore, I decided to get my backed up posts from Project 52, 2014 done in two posts. Enjoy…

Week 15: Apr 09 - Apr 15 Title: Scarlet Flower  Location: Home, ECD
Week 15: Apr 09 – Apr 15
Title: Scarlet Flower
Location: Home, ECD

This was the week of flowers. My friends said that I’m allowed one flower post for the year. Thus, I chose my favourite one – my scarlet flower. I’ve bee enchanted with this flower since I was a little girl after reading a story about it. My father then got the flower and planted it in our yard and since then it has thrived. I love the beauty of the flower and the fact that it has thorns – symbolic in a way.

Week 16: Apr 16 - Apr 22 Title: Man's 'footprint' Location: Orangestein, East Coast Essequibo, Gyuana
Week 16: Apr 16 – Apr 22
Title: Man’s ‘footprint’
Location: Orangestein, East Coast Essequibo, Gyuana

Things are not always as nice as they appear and photographers are normally seen as ‘focusing on the beauty’ instead of the upsetting, ugly, etc. Therefore, this week I choose to focus on how destructive men are. This is a branch with litter from the Atlantic Ocean wrapped around it. It’s really sad to think that all this trash came from the waterways and that people could care less about the disposal.

Week 17: Apr 23 - Apr 29 Title:... Location: Berbice Coast *somewhere*, Guyana
Week 17: Apr 23 – Apr 29
Title:…
Location: Berbice Coast *somewhere*, Guyana

Week Seventeen saw one of my better images for the year so far (or so I believe). I was on a photowalk with some friends in Berbice, Guyana. On the way back, I was determined to get a picture of the green fields we kept passing all day. It just so happens  that, after walking for a minute away from where the group was on one stop, I saw the dilapidated fence and a kiskadee on it. It wasn’t easy to get the shot as it was the end of the day, I was tired and the bird kept moving…

Week 18: Apr 30 - May 06 Title: Sonu Nigam Location: Guyana National Stadium, EBD, Guyana
Week 18: Apr 30 – May 06
Title: Sonu Nigam
Location: Guyana National Stadium, EBD, Guyana

Event photography isn’t easy – especially the kind where there is a stage with multiple revolving lights, smoke machines and artistes that are not staying in one location. Considering the above mentioned challenges and where I was sitting and the fact that it was night time, I think I did okay for this week. Being able to experience Sonu Nigam in concert with his band was a great experience – my mom and I danced, even in the rain!

Week 19: May 07 - May 13 Title: 9 Day Joy   Location: Cummings Lodge, ECD, Guyana
Week 19: May 07 – May 13
Title: 9 Day Joy
Location: Cummings Lodge, ECD, Guyana

Finally, closing off this ‘catching up’ blog post, I present to you a baby. There are multiple images of sweet, happy babies out there  there that’s not always the reality. Thus, I present to you something a bit more realistic… 🙂

2 thoughts on “Playing Catch Up – Pt 1”

Leave a Reply

