Stereotypes

2014  – Project 52 – Week Six

I really wasn’t aiming for anything specific this week – the year has definitely started and I’m definitely busy with work. However, some photographers had a ‘portrait’ photography session at the National Park and I think I did a good job of getting some satisfactory images.

Week 06: Feb 05 - Feb 11 Title: Stereotypes Location: National Park, Guyana
Week 06: Feb 05 – Feb 11
Title: Stereotypes
Location: National Park, Guyana

The challenge for me was that the subjects were ‘children’. If this wasn’t hard enough, they were in motion – as is expected with children. However, I found two shots that I really liked. This one won out as my image for Week Six because of the concentration with which the girl is trying to fix the doll’s clothes and the confusion that is apparent on the little boy’s face, in his posture. In addition, I just liked how they seem to be doing stereotypical things for boys and girls.

week 6 (2)Another favourite was this image. However, I didn’t find it as strong as the previous one so it got a nice second spot for the week. This one was taken right after the first one. At first, I was thinking of using this as the image for the week but then after a while I realised that something seemed ‘missing’ so it got the second spot. I’m not quite sure, even now, what was missing for me…

Some other favourites from this shoot:

4 thoughts on “Stereotypes”

  1. Nice.
    “Stereotypes” are a mind-set in my opinion, I don’t place much stock in people who place any sort of emphasis on them… 🙂 Live the life you want, and don’t be bothered with what other people perceive or even seem to demand

  2. Interesting to note that Amelia’s sister Lua, seems to be the opposite, who couldn’t care less of the clothes she has on and prefers to find sticks, rocks and go digging in the sand. As Lua rightly said once, “everyone is different”

Leave a Reply

